The Ceramics Museum Bürgel

ContactOpening hoursAdmission fees

Ceramics Museum Bürgel

Am Kirchplatz 2

07616 Bürgel

Telephone: 03 66 92 – 37 333

Telefax: 03 66 92 – 37 334

eMail: post@keramik-museum-buergel.de

Tuesday – Sunday: 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

December – February
Tuesday – Sunday: 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

There are special opening hours available on request and guided tours after an appointment.

Adults 4,00 €
Pupils/ students/ visitors with an identity card for the disabled 2,00 €
Family ticket (2 adults and 1 child, free from the 2nd child) 9,00 €
Groups from 10 people (price per person) 3,00 €
Children under 6 years of age free of charge
Members of the German and International Museums Association and of the Support Group free of charge
Rate for guided tour 20,00 €
Fee for taking photos 1,00 €
Special events according to special pricing

Main emphasis of the collection

The history of the pottery craftsmanship in Bürgel is presented in a clearly structured and illustrative (permanent) exhibition. Special exhibitions show the history of the single pottery workshops and manufactories or present single ceramic personalities. We also glance at other pottery centres in Thuringia and Germany as a whole.


The only specialized museum for ceramics in Thuringia already came into being in 1880 as sample collection and was open to the public.

Being one of the oldest ceramics museums at all, particularly the 450 years of pottery tradition in Bürgel is documented.

Further more complementing fields of collection concerning German and Thuringian pottery history are cared for. These are mainly from the second half of the 20th century as well as contemporary ceramics shown at the example of the competitions for the Walter-Gebauer-Ceramics Prize. Nowadays the continuously growing collection stock comprises about 5,500 inventory numbers.
There is a new field of collection with the products of the Dornburg Ceramics Workshop dating of all periods in use by the Bauhaus, further to Otto Lindig and to the the Körtings.

Collection concerning the pottery history in Bürgel
This field of collection is the oldest and most comprehensive one. Besides the widely known Bürgel stoneware with the blue thrown glaze the whole range of earthenware is documented. There are numerous examples of various slip decors up to the Bürgel blue and white ceramics that has become classic in the meantime. One of the goals is to show typical and untypical pieces manufactured in all workshops. Highlights in the collection form the workshops and manufactories that have become famous beyond the everyday tableware, e.g. Carl Gebauer, Eberstein/Hohenstein, C. A. Schack, Carl Fischer, Otto Beyer, Reichmann and Walter Gebauer.

Positions of the Thuringian pottery history outside Bürgel
Besides Bürgel there were further pottery centres in Thuringia.
The Werra-area has to be mentioned where a small collection stock comes from and that has been extended sporadically for the purpose of comparing. The museum collects regarding Thuringian ceramicists and workshops already existing in the second half of the 20th century and so representing the essential positions of the artistic and consumer ceramics in the GDR. The following belong to this category:
the Körtings in Dornburg, the Saalfeld community of artists with Karl Jüttner, Gerhard Dölz, Dietrich Kleinschmidt and Gerda Körting; Römhild ceramics of Siegfried Gramann’s firm, Joseph Höhler’s and Johannes Urban’s ceramics from Friedrichroda, Albert Kießling and Ralf Unterstab in Langenhessen, Kristian Körting from Saalfeld and also Ulli Wittich-Großkurth from Jena.

Positions of the German pottery history
Due to several donations a still young and comparably small collection stock comprises a representative cross section of Lotte Reimers’ works, who lives in Deidesheim. This group is accompanied by further individual items of West German ceramics before 1989 (Aage Birk, Reinhold Rieckmann).
Positions of contemporary ceramics with the example of the Walter-Gebauer-Ceramics Prize
Since awarding the ceramics prize of the town Bürgel for the first time in 1995 – today the Walter-Gebauer-Ceramics Prize – the Ceramics Museum has succeeded in acquiring all pieces of the competitions that won prizes or gained praises. In that way not only a unique collection of award-winning contemporary ceramics has arisen but also generous support allowed the acquisition of items recommended by the respective jury of the competition. There are further pieces in the collection due to a particular quality in the skilful performance or due to original creative ideas and decors demonstrating the variety of current ceramics creativity impressively.
Collection of the Dornburg Ceramics Workshop
The creation of a museum out of the Dornburg Ceramics Workshop requires as basis exhibits that are suited to document the history of the place and its (ceramic) historic importance and make this history come alive in a special way. For many years the creation of such a suitable collection has been systematically taken care of.

Das Keramik-Museum Bürgel

KontaktÖffnungszeitenEintrittspreise
Keramik Museum Bürgel
Am Kirchplatz 2
07616 Bürgel
Telefon: 03 66 92 – 37 333
Telefax: 03 66 92 – 37 334
eMail: post@keramik-museum-buergel.de
Dienstag – Sonntag: 11.00 – 17.00 Uhr

Dezember bis Februar
Dienstag – Sonntag: 11.00 – 16.00 Uhr

Auf Anfrage sind Sonderöffnungen möglich.
Führungen nach Voranmeldung.

Erwachsene 4,00 €
Schüler/Studenten/Besucher mit Schwerbeschädigten-Ausweis 2,00 €
Familienkarte (2 Erwachsene und 1 Kind, ab dem 2. Kind frei) 9,00 €
Gruppen ab 10 Personen (Preis pro Person) 3,00 €
Kinder unter 6 Jahren frei
Mitglieder des deutschen und internationalen Museumsbundes und Mitglieder des Förderkreises frei
Führungspauschale 20,00 €
Fotoerlaubnis 1,00 €
Sonderveranstaltungen gemäß
Preisfestlegung

Die Sammlung
Die Geschichte des Töpferhandwerks in Bürgel wird in übersichtlicher und anschaulicher Ausstellung präsentiert. Sonderausstellungen zeigen die Geschichte einzelner Töpfereien und Manufakturen oder stellen einzelne Keramikerpersönlichkeiten vor. Dabei wird der Blick auch auf andere Töpferzentren in Thüringen und Deutschland gerichtet.

Das einzige Spezialmuseum für Keramik in Thüringen entstand bereits 1880 als öffentlich zugängliche Mustersammlung.

Als eines der ältesten Keramikmuseen überhaupt wird insbesondere die 450-jährige Töpfertradition in Bürgel dokumentiert.

Darüber hinaus werden ergänzende Sammlungsbereiche zur deutschen und Thüringer Keramikgeschichte vor allem der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie zur Gegenwartskeramik am Beispiel der Wettbewerbe zum Walter-Gebauer-Keramikpreis Bürgel gepflegt. Der kontinuierlich anwachsende Sammlungsbestand umfasst heute etwa 5.000 Inventarnummern.
Ein junges Sammlungsgebiet sind Erzeugnisse der Dornburger Keramik-Werkstatt aus allen Nutzungsperioden vom Bauhaus über Otto Lindig bis zu den Körtings.


Sammlung zur Bürgeler Keramikgeschichte
Dieser Sammlungsbereich ist der älteste und umfangreichste. Neben dem weithin bekannten Bürgeler Steinzeug mit der blauen Anwurfglasur wird die gesamte Palette der Irdenware dokumentiert. Dazu gehören zahlreiche Beispiel der vielfältigen Schlickerdekore bis hin zur inzwischen klassischen Blauweiß-Keramik. Dabei wird angestrebt, mit typischen und untypischen Stücken die Produktion aller Werkstätten zu belegen. Schwerpunkte in der Sammlung bilden die über das Alltagsgeschirr hinaus bedeutend gewordenen Werkstätten und Manufakturen, zum Beispiel Carl Gebauer, Eberstein/Hohenstein, C. A. Schack, Carl Fischer, Otto Beyer, Reichmann und Walter Gebauer.
Positionen der Thüringer Keramikgeschichte außerhalb Bürgels
In Thüringen gab es neben Bürgel weitere Zentren der Töpferei. Das Werra-Gebiet ist hier zu nennen, woher ein kleiner Sammlungsbestand stammt, der zu Vergleichszwecken sporadisch ausgebaut wurde.
Systematisch wird zu Thüringer Keramiker/innen und Werkstätten gesammelt, die in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts existierten und damit wesentliche Positionen der künstlerischen und der Gebrauchskeramik in der DDR besetzten. Hierzu gehören die Körtings in Dornburg, die Saalfelder Künstlergemeinschaft mit Karl Jüttner, Gerhard Dölz, Dietrich Kleinschmidt und Gerda Körting; Römhilder Keramik des Betriebes von Siegfried Gramann, Keramik aus Friedrichroda von Joseph Höhler und Johannes Urban, von Albert Kießling und Ralf Unterstab in Langenhessen, von Kristian Körting aus Saalfeld oder auch Ulli Wittich-Großkurth aus Jena.
Positionen der bundesdeutschen Keramikgeschichte
Ein noch junger und vergleichsweise kleiner Bestand umfasst Dank mehrerer Schenkungen einen repräsentativen Querschnitt aus dem Schaffen der in Deidesheim lebenden Keramikerin Lotte Reimers. Diese Gruppe wird flankiert von weiteren Einzelstücken westdeutscher Keramik von vor 1989 (Aage Birk, Reinhold Rieckmann).
Positionen der Gegenwartskeramik am Beispiel des Walter-Gebauer-Keramikpreises
Seit der ersten Vergabe des Keramikpreises der Stadt Bürgel – heute Walter-Gebauer-Keramikpreis Bürgel – im Jahr 1995 ist es gelungen, alle ausgezeichneten und mit Anerkennungen versehenen Wettbewerbsarbeiten für das Keramik-Museum zu erwerben. Dadurch ist nicht nur eine einmalige Sammlung preisgekrönter Gegenwartskeramik entstanden, sondern großzügige Förderungen erlaubten darüber hinaus die Erwerbung von der jeweiligen Wettbewerbsjury empfohlener Werke. Auf Grund einer besonderen Qualität in der handwerklichen Umsetzung oder wegen origineller gestalterischer Ideen und Dekore sind dadurch weitere Werke in der Sammlung, die eindrucksvoll die Vielgestaltigkeit des heutigen keramischen Schaffens belegen.
Sammlung Dornburger Keramik-Werkstatt
Die Musealisierung der Dornburger Keramik-Werkstatt bedarf der Fundierung durch Exponate, die geeignet sind, die Geschichte des Ortes und seine keramikgeschichtliche Bedeutung zu dokumentieren und auf kennzeichnende Weise anschaulich zu machen. Seit mehreren Jahren wird systematisch am Aufbau einer entsprechenden Sammlung gearbeitet.